Daily Prompt: Sanctuary

My response to the daily prompt titled Sanctuary which asks;

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt.

Sanctuary was the name of the student bar at one of the universities I went to. It really did feel like a sanctuary to us at times. After a long day of lectures, head to sanctuary for a few drinks. After a long day of studying in the library, head to sanctuary for a few drinks. After an exam, head to sanctuary for a few drinks. After a long day of napping and nursing a hangover, head to sanctuary for a few drinks. Well we were students so of course there was a lot of sleeping and napping involved.

It didn’t matter what time of day it was, I could walk in there and there was always someone I knew about that I could hang out with and chat with for a bit. That is what you call sanctuary. Somewhere you are always welcome and always feel safe.

Great now I have the theme song for Cheers stuck in my head.

It’s amazing how well this song captures the spirit of what a sanctuary is. Everyone needs a bar/pub.

Next!

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sanctuary”

  1. I just grew up loving this theme song and the show wasn’t too bad either! I can understand your post though since I was a drinker in my college years as well!

Leave a Reply

