Britain is finally getting a referendum on EU membership

It’s finally official, Britain is getting its referendum on whether or not to remain a member of the European Union.

I’ll be honest there has been a part of me half expecting David Cameron and/or the EU to find some way to weasel out of it. We all know what politicians and bureaucrats are like.

There’s a part of me that also thinks that even if the British people do vote for Brexit (I already hate that term and the campaigning has only just started) then the EU won’t allow Britain to leave. They’ll find rule or regulation or piece of legislation that means Britain can’t leave, or can’t leave without jumping through a series of hoops or completing a series of impossible tasks. Perhaps having to make a large payment to make up for the revenue lost from Britain leaving. Hopefully I’m wrong but it’s a niggling feeling I have. I don’t have much faith in politics.

As for where I stand on the issue, I’m leaning towards no, that is to say I’m in favour of an exit. The EU has become too big and too unwieldy , stuffed full of unelected and unaccountable bureaucrats, ignoring the wishes of ordinary citizens.

I think the EU needs Britain and a few other countries to leave in order to bring about some long overdue reform because the EU seems very unwilling to do so otherwise. Some accountability and transparency should be top of the reform list.

Also let’s not forget that Britain never actually signed up to join a political union. What Britain signed up to was an economic trade union, one that slowly turned into a political union, taking more and more power as it expanded over the years.

Over the coming months, as the debate grows and the campaigning goes on, I’ll add my thoughts on the issue.

Also feel free to let me know what way you are leaning and why.

2 thoughts on “Britain is finally getting a referendum on EU membership”

Leave a Reply

