Things that vex me… Drilling

Welcome back to another edition of things that vex me, the place where we rant, rave, moan, groan, and complain about all the things, big or small, that vex us in life.

Last time it was the sky misleading you, this time however it is the turn of one of the worst sounds there is, drilling. Does my bloody head in.

I was tempted to put earworms again because I still have the little bastards addicted to the Mighty Morphing Power Rangers theme and I have lost track of the amount of times I’ve had to listen to it now the past week but I thought repeating the same thing two weeks in a row was too lazy even by my standards. Plus it would vex me to read the same thing two weeks in a row.

No I went with drilling instead and I don’t mean the kind a dentist does, although I admit that can be quite horrible. No I am talking about the kind of drilling a builder does. Why? It does my fucking head in.

My neighbours are having a lot of work done (and there are a lot of issues with it and the council which I still can’t go into because they haven’t been resolved yet because bureaucrats are fucking useless, clueless bastards) which has resulted in loud drilling and banging pretty much all day everyday since the end of October.

It is pure hell. It is like some evil form of torture. The Americans can stop with their water boarding, nah just have someone stood outside the persons cell drilling non-stop and they’ll soon crack. The noise honestly goes straight through you.

The noise has been going on so long now that even when there is no drilling going on I hear phantom drilling. You know like when you think you feel your phone vibrate but it actually didn’t? Sort of like that, I’ll be sat there enjoy a rare moment of quiet and suddenly hear a faint drilling sound, get up to check it out but there’s nothing. No builders.

I have to turn the TV and my music etc up so loud just to try to drown out all the drilling that it’s giving me a headache. I can’t think straight anymore as result.

What makes it worse is the builders are rude, arrogant, ignore the law about working hours, and make a fuck-ton of mess that they just leave.

Oh well I’m off to enjoy some peace and quiet while I can.

One thought on “Things that vex me… Drilling”

Leave a Reply

