Daily Prompt: Can’t Stand Me

Yesterday’s daily prompt was called Can’t Stand Me and it asked;

What do you find more unbearable: watching a video of yourself, or listening to a recording of your voice? Why?

OK so I’ve already this prompt all the way back in July 2014 (god so long ago) but I actually want to update this one this time. I know shocking ain’t it, I’m not being lazy.

I still prefer listening to a recording of my voice to watching a video of myself. I can’t think of anything worse. Well OK obviously I can, living in ISIS held territory is certainly worse than watching a video of myself, but my point is watching a video of myself ranks high on my list of things I don’t wanna do.

So since I last did this prompt the YouTube I had that I mentioned in it has died, mainly because I got too busy and distracted and forgot about it. Recently however I, along with Megan, have started a new YouTube channel for our football blog – The Back Five – and I swear my voice sounds different now. Before I didn’t mind hearing a recording of my voice that much, but now, I don’t know, my voice somehow sounds worse. I hate it. I’m not sure if it’s because I have a new (and better) microphone or if I’m just out of practicing of talking (I don’t actually speak that much) or have I built up an idea in my head of how I think my voice used to sound OK and these new recordings don’t live up to what’s in my head?

It’s really annoying me in a way because it’s putting me off recording more videos like was one of my goals for the year.

And now the obligatory check out my channel part.

Hey you! Yes you. Check out my YouTube channel.

Next!

Leave a Reply

