If you won the lottery would you still play it?

With all the talk recently about the lottery, both here in the UK and the US, because of the astronomical figures being given out as prize money I’ve had this thought going through my head, if you won the lottery would you still play it?

I should make one thing clear I don’t mean if you win a tenner or something small like that. I’m talking about if you win a multi-million pound jackpot would you still play the lottery?

You could certainly afford to. If you stick all that money in a bank account with good interest rates, the interest you will make on that money will take care of you life and then some, so you could easily afford to take what £104 would it be if you played the lottery twice a week at £1 a ticket. I’m going to go out on a limb and say you will make way more than that a year in interest on your millions.

Imagine if you win again. People will hate you, they will call you one of the luckiest bastards on the planet, along with a lot more unpleasant names and they will be insanely jealous. I’m sure they will also argue that you have broken the rules somehow and say it’s unfair because you’ve already won it so you shouldn’t be allowed to enter it again blah blah blah. This is probably all a good reason not to keep playing the lottery but me being me, well I’d probably do it just in the hopes of annoying people like that.

Other than you already have more money than you know what to do with, at least in my case because I doubt I would ever be able to spend millions of pounds in one lifetime, well if I really really tried I guess I could but I wouldn’t want to, there’s no need to and it would just be a waste of money. Yes I said a waste of money despite the fact you have more money than you know what to do with.

I think I’d still play it, like I said just set £104 aside each year to play it twice a week, if I were to win it, well I guess I could and would be a bit more adventurous with my second set of winnings knowing that I still have the millions from the first time that I won to take care of me for life and any children I have.

But I think some people might fear using up all their luck of something if they won the lottery twice. I suppose the universe is a bitch and it would be just like life if you died of a heart attack or got hit by a bus the day after winning a multi-million pound jackpot on the lottery. Of course that supposes that luck is a finite resource. Oh and real.

Of course this is all hypothetical since I don’t actually play the lottery at all so I will never be in the position to win it twice because I won’t even win it once. And no I’m not really tempted to start playing it either. It seems like a good way to lose a couple of quid each week.

Do any of you play the lottery? Ever won anything? If you won the jackpot would you keep playing?

Leave a Reply

