Daily Prompt: Modern Families

Yesterday’s daily prompt was called Modern Families and it asked;

If one of your late ancestors were to come back from the dead and join you for dinner, what things about your family would this person find the most shocking?

I think they would find a lot of things shocking so I’m really struggling to narrow it down to just one thing to be honest. I mean just look at how much the world has changed in the last century. Just look at how many diseases have been cured, infant mortality is right down, diet and health is greatly improved (and then gone back to shit), everyone gets a chance at an education, depending on how far we go back that might have been no United Kingdom so that is something that would be a big shock.

As for my ancestors, working class people at the bottom level of society, I suppose they’d be shocked to learn that some of their descendants went to university, something that would have only been for the elite level of society in their lifetime. To be honest that is something that amazed my parents, they never dreamed their children would achieve such a thing. It may be becoming normal for everyone to go to university but it is a very very modern phenomena.

Next!

15 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Modern Families”

  1. LOL your post reminded me of my father’s stories. His parents were poor and they would make him go to school during the war because school was expensive. And whenever a sudden bomb would go off, he would run and hide at the nearest underground hole for situation as like this then. Ha, our ancestors…. oh wait… there re my grandparents :!

      1. Yeah. Maybe we could guess the appearance of the tongue too from the tones www coukd see. So cool. Am I going to hit send after I write this? Of course I will!

    1. I just read back my previous comment again and…I only meant your tongue in your gravatar….(or yourself). The way I put it in that previous comment came out so wrong!

Leave a Reply

