Daily Prompt: Write Here, Write Now – A rant and story

Today’s daily prompt is called Write Here, Write Now and it asks;

Write a post entirely in the present tense.

OK so I’ve left this one most of the day because I had no idea what to write for it but since one of my goals was to blog everyday I decide I can’t very well fail on the second day of the new year so here I am at 11:30pm having had a few beers – I’ve got loads left from Christmas and New Years that I need to finish up so I can begin drinking less and getting healthy. It makes sense to me so shh.

I just recorded my first video of 2016 (along with Megan) or is that straying into past tense despite the fact that it wasn’t that along ago and still feels very much like the present? What if I say that we are planning to record some tomorrow (Sunday)? Or am I now veering towards the future? Oh well since we are in the future anyway, the weather for those of us England will be shit tomorrow, not that I needed abilities to see the future to know that, just experience of English weather. Plus I just checked the weather forecast and apparently it is going to rain tomorrow.

Why is it when the prompt tells me to stick to the present tense that is the very last thing I want to do? All I want to do is talk about the future or the past now yet if it told me to talk in the past tense I’d go out of my way to avoid it.

Does this count as a post yet? A shit one admittedly, but I can’t let the daily prompt win. Not even once. It was a mistake of it to try. Ha take some past tense,

The daily prompt tried to trick our valiant hero but he saw through its deception and instead began to ramble like a lunatic, slowly increasing the number of the words that appeared before him on the screen, each one a dagger in the non-existent heart of the daily prompt. With a loud screech the daily prompt fell to the floor with a thump. Thump. Our hero stood over the daily prompt, despite the fact that it does not have a body or physical form since it is merely an idea, which of course also meant that it could not have fallen to the floor with a thump or indeed screeched, laughing like an idiot. After a period of time that is best left undefined our hero realised how ridiculous the whole thing was and decided to find something better to do. Let’s say he went and read a book. Yeah that sounds reasonable. Or hero stopped his laughing and walked away to go and find somewhere to sit down and read a book. The End.

I think I’ve made my thoughts quite clear on this matter. Damn.

Next!

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Write Here, Write Now – A rant and story”

  1. I was counting how many times you used the past tense. I think 9 times so far 😀 Yeah. I win, not you nor the daily post. Unless I got the number wrong lol

Leave a Reply

