10 things I hope not to do in 2016

In my end of year review for 2015 where I looked at just how terribly I failed my goals for the year, Laduchessederat said that is why she doesn’t do New Years resolutions and suggested instead that I should make a list of things I don’t want to do in 2016 (and that if I post such a list, she will as well).

So here are 10 things I don’t want to do in 2016.

1. Die

While I’m a miserable bastard at times and am not afraid of dying, I’d like to make it through 2016 alive (unless becoming a vampire is an option). Death tends to make achieving your goals rather difficult, it is quite a nuisance, and it gets in the way of living one’s life. For this reason I hope to avoid it in 2016.

Oh and if Death or the Grim Reaper are reading this, there be a nice crate of beer waiting for you at the end of the year if you allow this. Deal?

2. Go to the hospital

I hate hospitals. I hate being in hospital. I hate visiting people in hospitals. I don’t want to step foot in a hospital in 2016.

I bet I’ll be in the hospital by the end of January for something now I’ve said this.

3. Bungee Jump

I don’t like being upside down. The idea of hurtling towards the ground face first only to be pulled back up again by some rope tied to your feet doesn’t sound very fun to me. I’d love to go skydiving, swimming with sharks and crocodiles, but bungee jumping is a no.

4. Break a bone

OK so I suppose this is related to number two and not going to the hospital but there’s a specific reason for this one. I’ve never had a broken bone before. Thus I am indestructible and I would very much like to keep things that way.

5. Throw up from drinking too much

I have never thrown up from drinking too much before and I would like to keep it that way.

6. Stay awake all night doing nothing

It’s pointless and it means I have to spend a week or so trying to reset my sleep pattern, Sadly this is an all too common occurrence for me but one I’d like to avoid in 2016.

7. Blog death

I like blogging. I’m enjoying it and I’d like to think that I am getting better at it and that my writing is improving. Don’t all rush to say how much you love this blog or my writing. I don’t want it to stop so that is something I would very much like to avoid in 2016.

8. Eat too many takeaways and frozen/ready meals

It’s not that I eat that many takeaways, it’s nice to have a treat once in a while, and frozen and ready meals are a nice quick convenience when you are tired or having a lazy day. However nothing beats a nice meal that you have prepared yourself, they are better for you and they have so much more flavour. So I don’t want to eat too much takeaway this year.

Wait a moment that almost sounded serious.

9. Not win the lottery

That’s right a double negative.  I’ve decided I’ve had not winning the lottery so this year I’d like to not not lose the lottery. Do you follow? Good.

10. Gain Weight

Considering I’m trying to lose weight and get in shape, putting on weight would be rather counterproductive so I’d like to avoid that if at all possible.

 

There you have it, 10 things I hope to not do this year. What 10 things are you hoping not to do this year?

5 thoughts on “10 things I hope not to do in 2016”

Leave a Reply

