Daily Prompt: The Outsiders

Today’s daily prompt is called The Outsiders and it asks;

Tell us about the experience of being outside, looking in — however you’d like to interpret that.

If I’m stood outside how am I typing this? Yes yes yes, I know it says experience.

Isn’t that a bit creepy, being stood outside somewhere staring at the people inside? There’s you stood in the wind and rain outside, all cold and wet, staring at the people nice and warm inside. Maybe they are eating a nice meal, or perhaps they are watching TV, or maybe they are having a good laugh with their friends. And there’s you, all alone watching them.

I can’t remember what the point of this was.

Oh and I just want to stress, I don’t do that. It’d be weird. Plus it seems like a huge waste of time, I have better things to do than stand outside some window watching people do boring stuff. I have books to read, films to watch, stories to write, sleep to sleep. OK that last one may not have worked out too well but I like sleep.

As for the other type of outsider, socially. Don’t care. I think it’s clear that I’d somewhat fit into that social grouping and I really don’t care. I’m happy being me. Yes despite all the moaning. I’ve never felt any kind of longing to be on the “inside”. I follow my path. If I have to do that alone or if that makes me an outsider, so be it. Doesn’t bother me.

I feel like giving myself a pat on the back for answering this properly. Well sort of properly. More so than what I usually do. Go me.

Next!

Leave a Reply

