Things that vex me… People that spit in public

Welcome back to another edition of things that vex me, the place where we rant, rave, moan, groan, and complain about all the things, big or small, that vex us in life.

Last time it was noisy neighbours, this time it’s the turn of people who spit in public. The disgusting, uncivilised cretins.

Why? Why do people do this? It is absolutely disgusting.

There you are happily walking along the street when you’ll hear and see someone coughing and hacking away before gobbing on the pavement.

Made worse if you are walking towards them you then have to step around and avoid looking at their phlegm in case it makes you feel sick.

It is a filthy habit and is completely unnecessary. There is no need to gob or spit in the street like that. Absolutely no reason at all. Take a sip of water or something. Wait until you get home. What are people doing that they constantly feel the need to hack up a load of phlegm and spit it in the street?

OK if you are walking through a park or a field or something like that and you accidentally swallow a fly or some other kind of bug I can understand it. You need to spit that out. But just walking down the street?

It’s something that seems to becoming more and more common as well, which is just horrible.

The other day I went for a walk and I passed at least four people who had decided to cough and hack up some phlegm and deposit on the pavement. If I was more paranoid I would think it is aimed at me. Not the spit itself, the act of spitting I mean. It would be really easy to tell if the spit was actually aimed at me.

We all share the same pavement and streets so why do they feel the need to defile them so? I’m sure they don’t like stepping in someone’s nasty gobbings and potentially dragging it home on the bottom of their shoes.

And that doesn’t even get us started on the whole hygiene issue of it. Now I’m not saying the streets or pavements are clean or anything like that. They aren’t. Food that falls on the street stays on the street. Likewise if you pick anything up of the street you wash your hands the first chance you get.

I don’t know what kind of diseases these people have. If they have such bad manners and hygiene that they will happily spit on the floor I have to doubt their entire personal hygiene and grooming standards.

Stop it. It is rude. It is nasty. It is disgusting. And it is uncivilised. Just because you have no manners and don’t care about the state of the area you live in doesn’t mean we all feel the same way.

24 thoughts on “Things that vex me… People that spit in public”

      1. I don’t know. I just REALLY have this feeling you have it xD My stalker-instincts are telling me. BTW, I told you on hangouts how I “found” you xD

Leave a Reply

