Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance

Today’s daily prompt is called I Pledge Allegiance and it asks;

Are you patriotic? What does being patriotic mean to you?

Somewhat I guess? I mean when you follow your national team in sport that is somewhat patriotic isn’t it?

And yeah I’m proud of Britain’s history. I’m sure you’ll have some people cherry pick the absolute worst bits of Britain’s history now that I’ve said that and say how dare I be proud and imply I’m a racist or some shit. Grow up.

So much literature, philosophy, technology, medicine etc was and still is discovered and invented here.

Could be worse. Could be French… That’s a joke.

It’s a weird one this. It’s nice to have  a national identity and feel like you belong to a group. And there are a lot of worse places to live. Places where different ideas and philosophies aren’t respected or tolerated, where women don’t have rights and are treated as property, and all other manner of things like that. Yeah I’m happy being British I think.

Next!

Leave a Reply

