I was on the tube yesterday and overheard this conversation…

Yesterday I was on the tube on my way to watch Chelsea vs Watford in the FA Cup third round and don’t you just love the things you sometimes overhear people talking about in public? 

I want to point out that I wasn’t trying to listen in or anything like that I swear. I just happened to be stood next to these two girls, who I’m guessing are work colleagues, and could hear their conversation. Although I suppose it was more the younger of the two (I’m guessing early to mid-twenties) talking while the older one (late twenties or early thirties) just stood and listened.

I don’t know how the conversation started, I guess I wasn’t on the tube for that part, but the younger one was talking about her latest boyfriend dumped her the day after her most recent birthday. Cue the “aww oh no, that’s terrible” from the older girl. The younger one then says its not the first time its happened, another ex-boyfriend dumped her the day after her 21st birthday, cue more “awws” from her friend.

She’s then going on about yeah I really know how to pick ’em, so typical of men, blah blah. You know all the usual stuff people say. I was just stood there thinking, really? It’s them? Really? It’s happened twice and the only common factor in all of this is you. Admittedly I don’t know all the details but still, what the hell does she do on her birthday? What type of guy does she go for?

It didn’t end there however, she kept talking and did give perhaps a clue as to why those relationships broke down. She said that whenever she goes on holiday or goes abroad she doesn’t like to be in a relationship when she does because she never knows what her partner is doing back home and doesn’t trust them.

Well with that attitude you will never have a healthy stable relationship. Seriously why go out with someone if you aren’t going to trust them? I’ve never understood people like this or people who get jealous over the slightest thing. What is the point? If you don’t trust them why should they trust you? I mean it seems very suspicious to me. It’s always the people who are constantly paranoid about things like their partner cheating etc that turn out to be guilty of it. Guilty mind perhaps?

I was just stood there the whole time trying to pretend like I was minding my own business waiting for my stop, but inside I just wanted to scream. Probably for the best that I didn’t.

2 thoughts on “I was on the tube yesterday and overheard this conversation…”

Leave a Reply

